Raiders Win Big in Week 1 Against SM North

The Raiders celebrating the win with the student body, band, and cheerleaders.

The Raiders celebrating the win with the student body, band, and cheerleaders.

The Raider football team opened the 2014 football season with a 41-12 victory over the visiting SM North Indians. The season opening win marked the first time the SM South football team opened the season with a win since the 1998 football season.

Senior Joe Fales #42

Senior Joe Fales #42

The defense was led by senior linebacker Joe Fales with 9 tackles including 1 TFL and a forced fumble. Sophomore Bremen Scholz had his hand in on 10 stops as well. Sophomore Kamau Kimaru, senior Brian Harness, and senior Ryan Donnelly were each credited with a sack, senior Dalton Lewallen had an interception and Ned Bingaman had a fumble recovery. The defense held the Indians scoreless through the first 3 quarters of the game.

Senior Matt Hollingsworth #16

Senior Matt Hollingsworth #16

On offense the Raiders were led by quarterback Matt Hollingsworth. Hollingworth rushed for 107 yards and a touchdown on 13 carries and completed 11 of 19 passes for 146 yards and 1 touchdown. Dalton Lewallen rushed for 106 yards and 3 TD’s on 9 carries and caught two passes for 39 yards and a touchdown. Marshall Bland scored the other touchdown for the Raiders. The Raiders totaled 443 yards of offense in the big win.

Senior Dalton Lewallen #20

Senior Dalton Lewallen #20

Ra’Keim Abdul Selected for KS Shrine Bowl

Rock Mug


Raider Safety/Running Back Ra’Keim Abdul has been selected to play in the 2014 Kansas Shrine Bowl. He will be playing for the East team. Ra’Keim is a three year starter at Free Safety and started at Running Back as a senior. He also was a major threat in the return game for the Raiders. Congrats Ra’Keim! Represent SM South!

Class of 2014 Has 10 Sign to Play at the Next Level!!!

Signing Cake

10 Raider Seniors from the Class of 2014 signed in February to continue their playing careers at the college level. Congrats to these guys on a great accomplishment and best of luck in your futures.

Nick Oliver – Emporia State University                                                                                     Chase Allen – Central College (Iowa)                                                                                       Ra’Keim Abdul – Butler CC                                                                                                       Dametrius Berry – Hutchinson CC                                                                                           Dominique Berry – Hutchison CC                                                                                           Jawann Stennis – Hutchinson CC                                                                                           KJ Edwards – Highland CC                                                                                                     Rasheed Brady – Highland CC                                                                                                 Kendall McCoy – Highland CC                                                                                                 Ethan Kaplan – Highland CC




2013 All Sunflower League Team Announced

2013 All Sunflower League Team  – Click link to see team

Congrats to Nick Oliver on being selected 1st Team All League Tight End!

Congrats to Ra’Keim Abdul, Dametrius Berry, and Dominique Berry for being selected to the 2nd Team All League!

Also congrats to the following players for being selected to the Honorable Mention Team. Stephen Erickson, Rasheed Brady, Tyler Perdue, Ned Bingaman, Marcus Neal, Terry Adams, Trent Flagler, Chase Allen, Brendan Brooks, Kendall McCoy, Marshall Bland

Purpose Statement

The Purpose for the SM South Football Program is to develop responsible leaders that will positively impact our world.

Purpose is the foundation for success. Having a defined purpose develops the work ethic and discipline that goes along with striving to achieve our purpose. When everyone within a program works together to achieve this purpose, then will great team and individual success follow.


13 Attributes to Serve our Purpose

1. Commitment – To our purpose and to being successful.

2. Self Discipline – Always do right!

3. Improve

4. No Self Limitations – Expect more of yourself.

5. Consistent Effort – Your absolute best every time. Lay it all on the line.

6. Enthusiasm – Be inspired. Have the time of your life.

7. Expect to Win – Truly believe you will.

8. Be Tough – Mentally and Physically

9. Don’t Accept Losing – Never give in to losing or it will become a habit.

10. Responsibility – You are responsible for your own performance.

11. Eliminate Mistakes – Don’t beat yourself!

12. Team Unity – Come together as never before to be something greater than yourself.

13. Leadership – Everyone can set the example.